Skip to main content
Skip to search
Hide This Site

Covering your tracks


When you visit a website your internet browser may store information such as cookies, temporary internet files or the history of the pages you have viewed or documents you have downloaded. It may also save passwords you have chosen to save, searches entered in the browser's address bar and web page data to speed up loading pages on subsequent visits.

If someone else shares your computer they may be able to access some of this information either intentionally or unintentionally e.g. when typing text into the address bar which may auto-complete to display previously visited sites, or by viewing the browsing history.

If you don't want other people to know that you have been using the Help For Victims website you can either use Private Browsing or clear your internet history after your visit.

Private Browsing

Private browsing ensures that your browser does not save any history, cookies or temporary files for your session. To set up Private Browsing you must select the relevant option for your browser before you access the Help For Victims site BUT remember that some parents/guardians/employers may install monitoring software which may still be able to track you even if you are using Private Browsing.

To set up Private Browsing:

Internet Explorer 8/9/10:

- Select Ctrl + Shift + P

- OR Select Tools/InPrivate Browsing

- A new browser window will open that is marked as InPrivate next to the address bar

Mozilla Firefox :

- Select Ctrl + Shift + P

- A new browser window will open marked at the top of the window as Private Browsing

Google Chrome:

- Select Ctrl + Shift + N

- A new browser window will open marked at the top of the window in Incognito Mode with a 'secret agent' logo in the top left corner

Safari:

- Select Edit/Private Browsing

- The address bar will indicate that the browser is in Private Browsing mode

Remember that if you download any files or create bookmarks they will be still saved and visible to other users.

Deleting internet files

If you have been browsing Help For Victims without Private Browsing you may want to clear stored files including:

- Cookies

- Browsing history

- Temporary internet files

How you do this depends on the browser and version you are using. Some general instructions are provided below. If you need any further help your browser Help function should be able to provide more information.

Internet Explorer 6:

- Select Tools/Internet Options

- Select Delete Files

- Check the 'Delete all offline content' checkbox on the popup and then select OK

- Select the Clear History button
Select OK on the confirmation message

- Select OK to close the Internet Options box

Internet Explorer 7/8:

- Select Tools/Internet Options

- On the General tab select Delete

- Select Delete All

Internet Explorer 9/10/11:

- Select Delete Browsing History

- Select all options

- Select Delete

Mozilla Firefox :

- Select History/Clear Recent History

- Select the relevant amount of time e.g. Last Hour

- Select Clear Now

Google Chrome:

- Select the Chrome menu (three lines at top right of screen)

- Select Clear Browsing Data

- Select the relevant time period for 'Obliterate the following items from' e.g. the past hour

- Tick all boxes

- Select Clear Browsing Data

Safari:

- Select History/Clear History

- Make sure 'Also reset Top Sites' is also checked

- Select Clear

If you are unsure that you are able to keep your tracks covered you may want to use a different computer. Your local library may have one.

Cookies

Cookies are files that are stored on your computer when visiting some websites. They contain information about sites e.g. to remember login details. Details of the cookies used on the Help For Victims website are provided in the Privacy Policy. If you want to be sure that nobody can see these files you can find details of how to do this at http://www.allaboutcookies .org/.